Another New Year, More New Goals

Happy 2012 everybody!! I don’t know about you, but I have thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing Christmas vacation with lots of family and loved ones. And now it’s back to life, back to reality. Bummer. 😀

As always, at the end of every year I find myself looking back to see what kinds of things I was able to accomplish in the past year, and areas in which I might have fallen short as well.  2011 held a lot of good progress for me in the food storage and preparedness arenas. I’m really excited about the progress in gardening that our family made this past year. I feel like we are finally starting to get a feel for what is working and what is not. Granted, we still have LOTS of learning to do, but I’m happy with the efforts we’ve made. I’m also happy with the organizational efforts that have been made in the food storage areas of our home. I’m feeling like we have a pretty good system going right now, and while it’s not perfect, it’s a system that I can manage for the time being. 🙂 I also checked back with the goals I had set at the beginning of this year and am happy to report that I came out pretty well on these. Yea for accomplishing goals! 🙂

An area I know I fell short in was my emergency preparedness… specifically first aid. I had wanted to get certified this past year (although it wasn’t one of my initial goals) and then never got around to it. *Drat.* I have looked up the information for local places that offer certification, so at least I’ve got that I guess. But that will have to stay on my list of things still do.

And now, with the new year, it’s time to look forward to see what good I can accomplish for the upcoming year. 2012 will be a great year, and there are so many things I want to do, but one of the most important aspects of making goals is to keep them realistic. (Remember to make S.M.A.R.T. Goals: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely.) One of the most exciting parts about my year will come in about three months when we welcome a new baby into our home. However, while that will be an enormous blessing, I also know from past experience that it is going to mean focusing A LOT of my time this year on just being a mom and making it through the initial newborn phase of our baby’s life. 🙂 So my goals this year are going to have to be kept fairly simple and limited in number.

So aside from my personal goals here’s what I’ve got planned in the preparedness realm for 2012:

  • For food storage, I want to try canning at least one new thing this year… something I’ve never tried canning before; and…
  • For gardening, I want to try planting something new for the garden… perhaps planting potatoes; and…
  • In emergency preparedness, I want to revise our family’s evacuations plans and get the details on those worked out a little better.

And that will probably do it. 🙂 I’m sure there are probably a lot of new things I’ll try this year and a lot of things I’ll continue to work on, of course, but as far as goals, those are some things I would like to accomplish.

What about you? What preparedness goals do you have lined up for 2012? Be sure to take some time to think of at least one or two and then write them down to help keep you accountable. Oh, and you can also check out THIS POST for a helpful goal tracker as well. 🙂
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

