What’s For Breakfast? Puffy Egg Pancake Casserole

Hey y’all! I tried a new breakfast recipe this weekend for Hubby’s and my anniversary and found it thoroughly enjoyable. And since breakfast meals tend to be one that I get in a rut of doing the same thing over and over again (cold cereal anyone??), I thought I’d pass along this recipe to anyone else in my same rut who would like to venture out a bit. πŸ™‚

These are originally called The Hotel Magnolia Puffy Pancakes and the recipe comes from (any guesses?) The Hotel Magnolia. (You’re so smart.) But calling them ‘puffy pancakes’ seems a little deceptive because, to me, they’re nothing like a puffy pancake. πŸ™‚ These are more like a combination of a french toast/pancake/egg casserole type deal. So I call them Puffy Egg Pancake Casserole to be a little more true to the dish. πŸ˜€ But regardless of what you call them, they’re yummy, and tasty, and the next time I make them I definitely think I want to try some fresh fruit on top! Mm-Mmm! That would be de-lish!

And one last note from me before I give you the recipe. This recipe would definitely need to fall under the ‘with electricity’ category of food storage recipes, because not only do you need to use freezer storage for the orange juice concentrate and butter, but this recipe also calls for 6 eggs. And while I am a big proponent of using powdered eggs in your food storage meals, this is one recipe where I would hesitate to do so. For this recipe I would suggest using the freezer style of eggs storage (assuming that fresh eggs aren’t available, of course) to maintain the integrity of the recipe. {Note: For tips on how to freeze eggs, check the first comment in the comments section ofΒ THIS post.}

Okay, and now onto the goodness. Hope you enjoy!

Puffy Egg Pancake Casserole

Download Printable Version
Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk (reconstituted powdered milk)
  • Β½ cup sugar
  • ΒΌ cup orange juice concentrate (undiluted)
  • 1 Tbsp butter, softened

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450ΒΊ F.
  2. Spray an 8×8 pan, or a 9×9, 11×7, pie pan, quiche dish… you know… something about that size. πŸ™‚ (Or see the note at the end.)
  3. Combine the eggs, flour, milk, sugar, and oj concentrate in a blender. Blend well. Add the butter and blend again.
  4. Pour the mixture into your prepared pan and bake for approximately 20-25 minutes, or until an inserted knife comes out clean. (Mine needed at least 25 minutes and probably should have gone a little longer.) Oh, and this would be the perfect time to cook up some bacon or sausage as a delicious side. πŸ™‚
  5. Scoop the pancake casserole out onto plates and serve with syrup, powdered sugar, fresh berries, etc. Serves approximately 4-6 people.

And on a side note, I believe the original recipe calls for baking these in 4 (1 cup) ramekin style dishes (with a Tbsp of butter melted into each dish prior to adding the mixture into the dish). I think I might have preferred doing that (as opposed to baking it all in one big dish) so that the center area would not be quite so soft set, but either way works. Enjoy!

One thought on “What’s For Breakfast? Puffy Egg Pancake Casserole

  1. AJ says:

    These look really similar to a breakfast we call German pancakes. Except they don’t have the orange juice. That would probably be super yummy. I am going to have to try it this way. Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

