More Fun In The Sun: Peanut Butter Cookies

So I happened to have a ready to go bag of peanut butter cookie mix in my cupboard (not a common occurrence in my house) and thought it would be fun to having a baking day with my girls. So we set the SUN OVEN out in the sun for some preheating and then got to work in the kitchen.

{Note to self: Ready made cookie mixes are food storage friendly.} 🙂

The girls had such fun adding in the ingredients (they love to crack the eggs… and then I get to pick out any shells from said eggs :)), mixing the dough, tasting… I mean testing… the dough to make sure it was just right, forming the balls (although I had to help with this part) and then smooshing the cookies to make the pretty (or not-so-pretty) crisscross pattern in the tops.

Then it was into the SUN OVEN for some cooking.

I wasn’t quite sure how long the cookies would need (the package said about 12 minutes) and after 15, I wasn’t thinking they were quite done yet. So I left them for a bit longer… lost a little track of time… and kinda sorta overcooked the first batch. Whoops. But the second batch was a much better success. I went ahead and took them out after 15 minutes regardless of the fact that they still looked a little soft and they set up nicely as they cooled. Perfect.

Can you tell which ones I overcooked? My bad. 😀

2 thoughts on “More Fun In The Sun: Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Molly Morehead says:

    I was just wondering what kind of sun oven you have. It seems to have a lot more reflective panels than mine. Did you add some extras to it?

    Like

    • Debbie says:

      Hi Molly, I have the Global Sun Oven. I didn’t add any extra panels, that is just the way it comes. There are four panels (although the two side ones could technically be called two each) and they just surround the four sides of the top. I’m not sure what type you have, but I really like mine so far.
      Debbie

      Like

Leave a Reply

