Educational Preparedness: Know Your Rights!

There is an article from the Preparedness Pro that I want EVERYONE to read. It’s called The Foundation of Preparedness Under Attack. I won’t say much about it because I really want you to read the actual article, but in a nutshell, it explains the importance of knowing what our rights and freedoms are. This bit of knowledge truly is the foundation of not only our preparedness, but our way of life.

I don’t expect that any of us don’t care about what our rights are. However, I do believe that many of us simply do not know or understand what our actual rights are. How do I know? Because I’m one of those people. If CPS showed up at your door and said they were taking your kids away from you because there was an accusation that you were not raising them properly, would you know your rights? I don’t! I’m pretty sure I would choke all over myself and stand by helplessly as I watched them take my children and try to figure out my next course of action. What if you were hauled off by the police for an accusation and you are told your choices are to plead ‘guilty’ or ‘no contest’ and that a judge will hear your case in a private setting? I’m pretty sure I’d just pee my pants and say “yes sir” and cross my fingers that everything turned out alright!

But NOT after reading that article! I am DETERMINED to learn more about what my rights and freedoms are! I want to be CONFIDENT in my rights because I know that, although this is a country that I love, government agencies and officials are going WAY beyond their bounds and taking power away from the people that are not theirs to take, simply because we, the people, do not know enough to say otherwise! For too long we have trusted the people we elect into office to take care of us and to learn the legal matters of our system so that we don’t have to. We’ve been content to put it all in ‘their’ hands. This cannot happen anymore. WE need to have the knowledge for ourselves. The power needs to be in OUR hands! WE THE PEOPLE!

So here’s my challenge. I am going to start ridding myself of ignorance and I want you to join with me! My first step is to read the Constitution of the United States of America. Confession: I have never read it. That changes now. I will give myself to the end of this month to read it in full and write down my thoughts on it. I hope you will challenge yourself to do the same. Even if you have already read it before, read it again. Take notes. What stands out to you? Hopefully we can have some future conversations on any insights we find there. And then we’ll move on to other books and sources of information to continually expand and increase our understanding. I hope you will join me because this much I do know: If we do not know our rights, they will be taken from us and will no longer be ours to enjoy.

Here is a link to The Constitution on the Senate.gov website. It even includes some explanations in the margins about what different Articles mean (since we don’t all speak 18th century English anymore). 🙂

The Constitution of the United States of America

I look forward to hearing what insights you come across and sharing mine as well. May we never take this sacred document for granted! Happy Freedoms!

2 thoughts on “Educational Preparedness: Know Your Rights!

  1. amme says:

    Impressive Debbie. I should read it again. But, on a side note–unless you invite CPS into your home (May I come in? Sure….) they can’t do anything or take anyone at that point. Just don’t let them in!

    Like

  2. Debbie says:

    Thanks Amme. That’s good to know. 🙂 See? Things I just don’t know that I NEED to know. NOT that I’m worried about CPS knocking on my door… but hey. You never know. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

