Feature Friday: Homemade Powdered Eggs

Who’d have ever thought you could make powdered eggs at home? (Who’d have ever thought you’d WANT to?!) πŸ™‚ But after reading Tuesday’s post on powdered eggs, I hope you’re all a believer that powdered eggs are something you’re going to want to have on hand.

And with that in mind, I came across these two How To tutorials (one from YouTube and one from eHow) for making powdered eggs at home! Ha! How crazy is that? I have not given this a try because I have plenty of powdered eggs already on hand, but I wanted to pass this on for anyone who is feeling adventurous and wants to give it a go. (And if you DO try it, definitely let me know how it works for you! I’m totally curious! ) πŸ™‚

Video Tutorial:


(Original Source)

Written Tutorial:

Things You’ll Need: Eggs, Saute Pan and Spatula, Paper Towels, Blender, Baking Sheet, and Plastic Bags or Jar with Lid

Directions:

  1. Scramble your eggs in a bowl. Pour them in a saute pan and cook until done.
  2. Drain the excess grease for a few minutes on a paper towel.
  3. Break the eggs into tiny pieces.
  4. Spread the eggs out onto a baking sheet.
  5. Dry at 135ΒΊ F for at least 10 hours.
  6. Run the eggs through a blender until they form a fine powder.
  7. Store your powdered eggs either in a heavy plastic bag, or a jar with a tight lid.
  8. To reconstitute one egg, mix 1 Tablespoon of egg powder with 2 Tablespoons of water.

(Original Source)

2 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Homemade Powdered Eggs

    • Debbie says:

      Hi Kathie, I honestly have no idea. As I noted, I have never made them and so I couldn’t vouch for how long they last. Obviously the way you store them will affect how long they last. If you were to seal them in a mylar bag or #10 can with an oxygen absorber and store them in a cool dry location, I imagine they would last at least a year. But that’s just a guess. The original article doesn’t mention a life span on them. Sorry I can’t be of more help! 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

