New Year, New Goals

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! Wow. What a year 2010 was. Ups, downs and all arounds. It was a good year. But I’m excited for this new year as well. There are so many possibilities! So much fun to be had, so much life to live… and so much food to store! (You know I had to go there.) 🙂
But seriously, the challenges that lay ahead make me look at this new year with anxious, but optimistic eyes. I know for me and my family there will be some tough times, but we’ve been working hard to prepare ourselves for them so I’m optimistic that we will come through this year with good and happy memories.
There is still more we need to do in terms of our preparation (financially, physically, emotionally, spiritually…) but that is what we are dedicating this year to- getting our house in order and preparing every needful thing.

We are definitely on a stricter budget this year, so it will be interesting to see how quickly things progress, but gratefully so many aspects of preparedness don’t cost a thing! Not to mention we already have our main ‘food storage structure’ in place and now we mainly just need to supplement with items to balance it all out. So I’m looking forward to being able to share with you how well (*hopefully*) things work out with a limited budget! 😀

So here are my goals for this year:

  1. I want to increase the food storage space in my house (I am full to the brim in the spaces I’ve already dedicated and need more space!), so I’m going to try and coax Hubby into making me some shelves or something we can use for that.
  2. I want to complete my long term food storage supply.
  3. I want to at least maintain (instead of deplete) my everyday food storage supply, and possibly even increase it, where finances allow.

I have other goals as well for the other aspects of preparedness, but those are a little more personal, so I’ll keep them to myself. 🙂 But I hope you’ll take some time to think about what you’d like to accomplish this year that will help you be more prepared for any trials that lay ahead in your future. Perhaps it is setting aside more food, or more money for that rainy day fund. Perhaps it is getting in better physical condition to be able to handle life’s physical demands better. Perhaps it is de-cluttering your life to be able to enjoy it more fully. Or maybe, just maybe, it is coming to know our Savior and Redeemer a little better so we can be led by Him in all we do. So that regardless of our circumstances, we can say “Come what may, and love it”.

God bless you all in the new year! Lots of Loves.

One thought on “New Year, New Goals

  1. Amme says:

    Debbie, Check out Ana-white.com for some great, FREE plans for furniture. If you search for armoire on her site you get basically a bookshelf with doors on it. I am planning on making some for my house this year to “hide” food storage in open areas. Good luck and thanks for keeping me inspired.

    Like

Leave a Reply

