The Innkeeper’s Story

Happy Monday, y’all! What a wonderful time of year this is! It’s Christmas Time!! Is there a better time of the year?!

Today I want to share with you a short story I wrote a few years back entitled “The Innkeeper’s Story”. I wrote it for part of a Young Women’s Christmas Program we were doing in my ward. Each of the leaders was to tell something from the perspective of different people involved in the Christmas story. Mine was the Innkeeper, and this is the story I told.

The Innkeeper’s Story

I didn’t know who they were.

He came and knocked on my door—just a couple looking for a room to stay in, like all the others I had turned away that day. But I felt a little worse for turning these two away… she was so obviously far along with child.

I told them to go check with the other inns, but I knew there was no place available. Our little town had already been filled to the brim with travelers days ago. I knew there was nowhere for them to go. But I couldn’t take them in… I would have had to give up my bed. …I didn’t know who they were.

Oh, the joys I missed out on that night—the miracle I could have witnessed.

It’s funny, don’t you think, how if we knew what was going on behind the scenes, or if we could see the bigger picture, or if we only really knew who someone was, how we would take the time to help, or go the extra mile, or… give up our own bed.

That’s why I’ve learned it’s so important to take the opportunity to help whenever I can. Each time I see someone in need and I think about passing them by, I remember the man and his wife who I turned away, and the miracle I missed, and I try to make it up to them somehow by helping another. I guess it’s like that little tiny baby taught later in His life… “For inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

May we make this a season of giving and service, just as Jesus has taught us to do. Merry Christmas Everyone!

Leave a Reply

