What’s For Conference Breakfast? Good Morning Casserole!

Hey all. I know I had mentioned my plans to make a delicious General Conference breakfast of Chocolate Strawberry Cinnamon Rolls and that I would share the recipe (which I was making up in my head) if they worked. Well, I actually ended up trying to make them as chocolate-raspberry swirl rolls with a cream cheese filling layer. Sounds divine, right? Well, they weren’t. They flopped. And it wasn’t that they were gross or anything… they just totally failed to please. What a disappointment. But I’ll probably start looking at ways to tweak and adjust that recipe to see if I can make it work, because it just sounds too good to not! In the meantime, if you’re thinking about using a chocolate cake mix in that Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls recipe, my advice is: don’t. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I didn’t want to feel like a total failure on the ‘cool breakfast’ front, so Sunday morning, we had this breakfast, which was delicious. So I thought I would share it with you in place of the failed cinnamon rolls. πŸ˜€ For me it doesn’t entirely count as a food storage breakfast because, although all the ingredients could be stored on the shelf or in the freezer, I wouldn’t use powdered eggs in place of fresh in this recipe. As great as powdered eggs are for baking… they do not make an adequate substitute for fresh when ‘egg’ is one of the spotlighted ingredients (in my humble opinion). So anyway… if you’re brave and want to try it with powdered eggs, then yes, this counts as a food storage recipe. Otherwise, just enjoy it anytime you want a special breakfast. πŸ™‚

Good Morning Breakfast Casserole

Download Printable Version
Ingredients:

  • 1 bag (about 1 lb) frozen potatoes (I like the potatoes o’brien type- with the peppers and onion in it)
  • 1 lb ground sausage (or cubed ham)
  • 4-5 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 7 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • Β½ tsp salt
  • Β½ tsp ground mustard

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 ΒΊF.
  2. Pour the potatoes in the bottom of a greased 9×13 baking dish and spread evenly. Bake for about 10-15 minutes to give the potatoes a little crispness.
  3. Spread the sausage (or ham) and cheese on top of the potatoes evenly.
  4. In a bowl, beat the eggs, milk, salt and mustard until combined. Pour over the potato mixture.
  5. Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour. Uncover and bake for an additional 10 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown and a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.
  6. Serve warm.
  7. Tip: You can assemble this the night before and keep it in the fridge to bake in the morning.
Leave a Reply

