Stories From Ike- More Memories

In memory of Hurricane Ike, I’m taking a trip down memory lane this week and sharing some personal stories and lessons learned of what it was like to be a part of that storm. Hopefully what I learned and went through can give some of you a better idea for how to prepare for your own emergency situations. I hope you enjoy this week! šŸ˜€

Here’s more from my personal blog…

{September 19, 2008} “Let There Be Light”
We have our electricity back!!! WAHOO!!!! We got power back at around 6pm last night and I tell ya what… you have never seen a pregnant lady jump and shout so much. šŸ™‚ The novelty of turning on a light switch has still not worn off. I get giddy each time I hear the AC unit kick on. I smile with delight when I look at the microwave and know that I can heat Dixie’s milk up in 30 seconds instead of having to wait 5 minutes for it on the stove, or when I load up the dishwasher with dirty dishes to be washed instead of with clean dishes that I just washed and are just needing a place to dry. I used my blow dryer and curling iron this morning for the first time in a week. *sigh* I have never had a greater appreciation for Benjamin Franklin than at this moment. šŸ™‚ I just feel profoundly more grateful for how blessed we are in this country. We truly do not know how great we have it. This past week wasn’t as rough for Jim because he’s pretty much ‘been there done that’. He said it was like being back in the mission. He served in Panama and there were times when he really had to do without. And I tell ya what, this boy knows how to make do! He was the one that was scrubbing our clothes in the bathtub and hanging them out to dry when we were running low (not that I couldn’t have figured it out, but he already knew how and was right on top of it). He was such a blessing to me (and to so many others) through this time.

Leave a Reply

