Stories From Ike- Braving The Storm

In memory of Hurricane Ike, I’m going to take a trip down memory lane this week and share some personal stories and lessons learned of what it was like to be a part of that storm. Hopefully what I learned and went through can give some of you a better idea for how to prepare for your own emergency situations. I hope you enjoy this week! πŸ˜€

{Ike Background}
In September of 2008 (two years ago this month), Hurricane Ike hit the Texas Gulf Coast as a strong Category 2 hurricane with a Category 5 equivalent storm surge (Category 5 is the highest category there is). Hurricane Ike was the third costliest hurricane ever to hit the U.S. and caused the death of 112 people (in the U.S. alone),with others still missing. It was the strongest storm of that season, and I was here for it.
As I mentioned before, I live on the outskirts of Houston, TX (and actually in Galveston County… Galveston being the island where the center of the hurricane passed through), so we were preparing ourselves for a big hit. Fortunately, my home happened to be on the “clean” side of the hurricane (is there such a thing when you’re talking about a hurricane?!), which meant the winds weren’t as strong/damaging on our side of the storm. And seeing as our city was out of the storm surge area, we decided to shelter in place (as opposed to evacuating). This was my first experience with a hurricane, and it was definitely a memorable one (did I mention I was about 6 months pregnant at the time?!).
Many of the lessons I’ve learned, I’ve been trying to share with you throughout this site, and we’ll get to many more lessons as we continue on, but today I just want to Β share some personal memories of what it was like to know we had a monster knocking on our door. πŸ™‚ Here is an excerpt from my personal blog from the day before the storm…

September 11, 2008 {Braving The Storm}


I suppose that if you were to see a picture of a storm that equaled the size of your state (with your state being the largest in the continental U.S.) heading straight at you with the projected strength of over 120 mph winds and a storm surge coming that could end up giving you ocean front property, you would probably think to yourself, “Self, I should get out of here.” Well, I’ll tell ya what… We’re not like the usual selfs out there. That, plus we don’t talk to ourselves. (just kidding- we TOTALLY talk to ourselves.) πŸ™‚ Anyway, the point being… we’re sticking Hurricane Ike out. (And if you don’t know what Hurricane Ike is and the fact that it’s headed RIGHT at my house, just click over to someone else’s blog that you actually care about. jk- again.)
So anyway, I just thought I would update everyone so that you all know I am currently alive and well. We are taking a lot of precautions for this storm and feel pretty secure, so we’re not feeling the need to evacuate (despite our zip code being listed as a mandatory evacuation zone). πŸ™‚ We’re looking at it as a fun adventure (you can do that when you’re young and stupid… even though we’re old and …well, still stupid). But we’ve got our windows on our house boarded up (thanks to my hunk of a husband), our generator just got returned to us today so we’ll have power to run some essentials if there were a power outage, extra gas, extra water and food, the mini DVD player is fully charged so Dixie can still watch Barbie (hey… it’s all about priorities! …KEEP THE BABY HAPPY!!!) πŸ™‚ and we’re just ready to look this storm in the eye and say “bring it on”. Of course, with my luck, the storm is going to change course at the last minute and go somewhere completely different and ruin all my fun. But I guess as long as my house is still standing, I won’t complain. πŸ™‚
Well, I will be sure to give an update by the end of the week so everyone can breathe easy knowing I’m alive (this is where you pretend you care) πŸ™‚ and I’ll let you know how all the excitement went down. Loves to everyone!

Click Here For a Family Home Video

Leave a Reply

