Financial Preparedness: Total Money Makeover

Hey y’all! Today I just wanted to give a quick recommendation to anyone who is seriously wanting to improve their financial situation and get out of debt. My recommendation is to read Dave Ramsey’s book ‘The Total Money Makeover‘. This book is fabulous. I don’t even have a lot of debt (the only thing we owe on is our house), but I still found the book full of great insights and information. There were a few minor points on which I didn’t completely see eye to eye with him (i.e. not using credit cards), but even on those I could see his point (but just chose to ignore his point. :))

Anyway, it’s essentially a step by step on how to get out of debt… and fast too. After that he talks about building wealth with the money you have, and then all the great things you can do with the wealth you will have (i.e. enjoy it and share it).

His motto: If you will live like no one else, then later you can live like no one else. Meaning, if you make the necessary sacrifices now, then before long, you will be able to enjoy the benefits that a debt free life offers, while others are still a slave to their debt.

So if you’ve got a lot of debt, or have even a little bit of debt, or none at all and just want a good financial preparedness review, I HIGHLY suggest reading this book. I’ll try and lay out some of the basic principles from the book in the future, but he just has a good way with words and motivating you to reach your goals. So read the book first and then we can review here together. 🙂 And to be even more financially smart about it, go check it out from your library for free (like I did!) 😀
Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Financial Preparedness: Total Money Makeover

  1. Mark Packard says:

    I love Dave Ramsey. He’s changed my perspective on finances and investing completely. I’m a convert to the doctrine of debt free living. In fact, I’m determined to buy my next house with 50% down, and each subsquent house in cash.

    Like

Leave a Reply

