Food For Thought: Make It Your Own

A thought that struck me recently… I was at a food storage enrichment meeting a while back and the instructor had commented that after doing some math, she realized that the amounts of food that were suggested for storage on my church’s website were grossly understated. They were barely enough to survive! She said that those amounts would essentially be comparable to living in a concentration camp (and we all know how well they were fed!). She was absolutely shocked that this would be what is put out by the church. So shocked that she contacted the church’s department that is over this area (I’m guessing provident living or something). Anyway, the person she talked to said that they were aware of the amounts and that this is simply to be used as a guideline, or a starting point. The church is not meant to ‘hold our hand’ through this process. The Lord has given the commandment, and it is up to each person/family to fulfill that commandment as they see fit.

That thought came back to me recently as I have been thinking about the ‘style’ I use in gathering my food storage versus how others gather and store theirs. There simply is not a right or a wrong way. It’s just a matter of finding the style that works for you. It’s up to you to find that style and take care of your family’s needs. It’s up to you to take charge of your family’s food storage. It’s up to you to make it your own! And make it fun while you’re at it! Just like Mary Poppins said… “In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun and… Snap! The job’s a game!”

So, with that said, in future weeks/months I’ll start talking about other ways to do food storage. I know my way is not ‘the only way’, so I want to put a lot of other ideas out there for everyone to consider in hopes that you’ll find a way that makes it fun and functional for you. And if you have any good ideas or systems that you like, please email me or leave a comment to share them. I’d love to get as many ideas possible. 🙂

Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

