Educational Preparedness: Me & Gardening

* Don’t Forget! * Tomorrow is our first GIVEAWAY! * Don’t Miss Out! *{GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED.}

Howdy y’all! Just thought I’d take the opportunity to report back to y’all on the challenge to educate ourselves. Ever since Hubby and I have been married, we’ve attempted to grow a garden each Spring/Summer. ย And every year, we more or less fail. Sure, we sow, we plant, but we rarely get much of a harvest. We’ve even tried several different methods (including a raised garden this year). Granted, Hubby is much better at gardening than I am. If it were left to me, our garden wouldn’t make it past the “nice thought” phase. ๐Ÿ™‚ But this is an area in which I’ve been wanting to improve. So on a recent trip to the library, I found two books on Texas gardening (actually they kind of found me… my 1-yr old started pulling books off the shelf and dumping them on the floor… these happened to be two of them. It was fate. :)) So I checked them out and started reading. Then, just this past week I purchased ‘Vegetable Gardening For Dummies’ (that would be me… I’m the dummy!) ๐Ÿ˜‰ and have started reading that book as well. I’m learning all sorts of good information, but mostly I think our biggest issue is our soil. Texas isn’t known for having the best gardening soil in the world. So I’m learning about adding nutrients like nitrogen, testing the pH levels, etc. These are all terms which, previously, scared the heck out of me. I mean, seriously… testing pH levels? Isn’t that something you can only do in a science lab with protective clothing on?! ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m learning! And it’s becoming less scary! So I’m really looking forward to the next growing season (which, for me, will be this Fall). Hopefully we’ll have a better go at it this time around. I can’t wait to start enjoying some real fruits of our labors! ๐Ÿ˜€ So anyway, how are all your learning experiences coming? Have you learned anything new and exciting?! Photo courtesy of Piku

2 thoughts on “Educational Preparedness: Me & Gardening

  1. Elisha Christensen says:

    Gardening is my favorite food storage topic!!! Our garden has done soooo well this year. We have made salads, chard w/ melted butter and homeade spaghetti sauce with our “crops”! I love to be outside (even when its hot) and I get such a sense of accomplishment & earthy fulfillment when weeded and watering my garden.

    Like

  2. Irma says:

    Thanks for all these informative viodes. I used to live in Alabama where I had an acre of land and always a big garden. I moved here to Florida nine years ago and now have a small city size yard. The soil here is very sandy. I tried a little garden a few years but gave up as it produced practically nothing. This year I put out some raised beds, (made out of old tires) and so far have been very pleased with the results. Keep posting the viodes as raised? bed gardens are new to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

