What’s For Breakfast? Oatmeal!

Yes, I know. Oatmeal is super basic to make. Oats. Water. Done. BUT, I wanted to share how I make the ‘individual serving’ type oatmeal like you can buy in the store. You know… the EXPENSIVE packets? I used to buy those because it is indeed convenient to just grab a packet out and make it. It’s the right amount. You can pick your flavors so everyone can have their favorite, etc. But I quickly realized that I almost always got just the basic maple and brown sugar kind (because it’s my favorite) and I was paying a whole lot of money for something I could probably duplicate very easily at home. So one morning I decided to do some testing and experimenting to get my very own individual-sized oatmeal packets. And here they are!

Individual Oatmeal Packets: Maple & Brown Sugar

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • dash of salt
  • raisins (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (more or less to taste)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup, honey, or agave nectar (I use agave)
  • milk (optional)

Directions:
-In your individual serving bowl (microwave safe), combine the quick oats, water, brown sugar, salt, and raisins. (Helpful tip: I have found that using raisins helps prevent the oatmeal from bubbling up and running over the sides of my bowl while in the microwave. If you don’t like raisins, just try using a larger bowl instead.)
-Microwave on HIGH for about 1 minute and 10 seconds. (Time will vary depending on microwave strength. I think mine is pretty strong, so an average time may be more like 1 minute 30 seconds).
-Carefully remove your bowl from the microwave, add your agave (or honey or syrup) and cinnamon. You may want to add a little milk to help cool it down as well as to make it a little less thick (unless you like yours really thick). Stir it up, and enjoy!

And if you really like the convenience of the little packets, just get some snack-sized baggies, add your oats, sugar, salt, cinnamon, and raisins (if using), to each one and zip them up. Make a bunch in advance, stick them in a shoe box (or a gallon-size baggie, or any container you’ve got), and then they’re ready to go at breakfast time. You’ll just need to add your water and syrup. And you can just keep your baggies and re-use them so that doesn’t become an extra expense.
Now, granted, this isn’t going to get you the Peaches n’ Cream variety of packets or anything like that, but you can always add fresh fruit when available (diced up apples, peaches, blueberries, etc) or you can even try adding a scoop of your favorite jam instead. Mix and match, add and experiment to your hearts content. It’s fun! πŸ™‚ My little kiddos actually love this oatmeal, which makes me one happy mom. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

