What’s For Dinner? Broccoli Curry Chicken Casserole

Alright, my apologies in advance that I did not get a picture of this meal when I made it last night. I’m having to admit to myself that I may have several meal posts with no pictures because I just frequently forget to take pictures of my food. 🙂 That, plus I’ve never been a big picture taker in the first place AND hubby usually has the camera at work anyway. SO. Please forgive me. But just know that I will never post a meal that I have not tried and do not thoroughly enjoy.
That being said, this is one of our family’s FAVORITES (particularly hubby): Broccoli Curry Chicken Casserole. It’s delicious! The recipe is handed down from my mom, but I’ve tweaked it just a tad to make it slightly more delicious and nutritious.

Here’s a picture I shamelessly stole borrowed off of Google that looks similar in concept. Just imagine a lot of yummy sauce and gooey cheese melted on top…

Broccoli Curry Chicken Casserole

Download Printable Version
Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of rice, cooked according to pkg directions
  • 1 (16 oz) pkg frozen broccoli florets, thawed (or about 1 head fresh broccoli)
  • 1 quart canned chicken (or meat from 2-3 chicken breasts, cooked and cut up into small chunks)
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup (*for gluten-free options, see endnote)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise* (not Miracle Whip… it has a totally different taste)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • ½ tsp curry, plus extra for sprinkling
  • Bread crumbs*
  • 1-2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Layer cooked rice on the bottom of a 13 x 9 casserole dish. Then layer the broccoli (I usually pop the broccoli in the microwave for about 2 minutes first to get them warmed up). Arrange cooked chicken pieces on top.
  2. Mix the condensed soup, mayonnaise, lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp curry in a small mixing bowl. Spread evenly on top of chicken. Sprinkle the top with a light dusting of extra curry, bread crumbs, and then cheddar cheese. (If you have green onions on hand, you could also slice those up and sprinkle them on top for a tasty addition.)
  3. Bake at 350 °F for 20-30 minutes, or until heated through.
  4. Serves about 6 people.

This recipe requires electricity for the broccoli and cheese (and chicken as well for those of you who have yet to discover the JOYS of homemade canned chicken!), but I think I’m going to start seeing if I can tweak it to find a good shelf-stable version as well. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

*Gluten-Free Notes:
-Here is a gluten-free recipe for condensed cream of chicken soup that I came across on recipezaar.com. It’s a little extra work, but worth the effort! Also, in this dish, since you already have a lot of chicken in the recipe, you can omit the chicken called for in the condensed soup recipe.
-And here’s a link to a whole list of gluten-free ‘Cream of ____’ soups, including the ‘condensed’ version at the bottom. Click HERE.
-I have learned that Hellman’s Mayonnaise (which I believe is also Best Foods in other parts of the country)  is gluten-free, so you can use that or make a homemade version if you’re feeling ambitious!
-Just omit the bread crumbs. It won’t make much of a difference.
Hope this helps!

3 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? Broccoli Curry Chicken Casserole

  1. d brown says:

    I am sure that your recipe looks just as good as the borrowed(stolen) one. Thanks for the gluten-free note. Did you know that creamed soups have flour, so Janice Seely gave me a recipe for a dry cream soup base. I think it might work for storage, I’ll get back to ya on that. I am making a batch this week. With homemade canned chicken, dehydrated broccoli and the soup base, that gets us started on food storage. How could we sub mayo? This makes me hungry for a different chicken casserole, and I just ate breakfast as I speak (type). Guess what’s for dinner tonight? Enjoy your day.

    Like

  2. Debbie says:

    Thanks for the comment Deena! I’ll definitely check my ingredients closer from now on! I added a link to a gluten-free recipe for condensed cream of chicken. It seems easy enough and hopefully will still keep the right flavor. Does the mayo also have gluten? I didn’t see any sign of it on the ingredient list. Or do you just not like mayo? 🙂

    Like

  3. AJ says:

    I have a dry soup base mix that I actually like the flavor of better than cream of chicken soup. It is powdered milk, some spices, cornstarch, and some other stuff. I’ll have to look it up and pass it on. It is shelf stable and all you have to do is add water and heat. I’ll email it to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

